My Arm is “ICY HOT”

Posted: May 30, 2009 by bluequillangler in Uncategorized
An "Icy Hot" Rainbow from Antero Res.

An "Icy Hot" Rainbow from Antero Res.

I usually don’t count fish or even measure or weigh them, but now and then I have a day where I get to wondering, ” How many fish did I really Catch” ? Or say to myself, ” That fish must of been at least 24 inches”. At that point I remind myself  it’s really not about numbers or size, but honestly it is nice to catch allot of fish and to be honest, it is really great to catch a really big fish, at least now and then.
Such a day I had at Antero Reservoir this past Wednesday when I went fishing with two of my favorite people, Joe Shafer and Jerry Vigil, who just happen to guide for the Blue Quill Angler. They picked me up at 3:30 AM and we arrived at  Antero Res at sunup.  After blowing up our Outcast float tubes we flipped on out to where the water was between 12 and 15 feet deep. It was pretty slow until around 9:00 AM and then ” all heaven broke loose”. We began getting strikes continually untill  4:30 PM when the wind came up. So without counting we had one “quadruple”.  A “quadruple” is when all three of us were hooked up at the same time, and then the first guy who “hooked up” released his fish and cast out and hooked a fourth fish. We had over 20 triples, 40 doubles, and uncountable singles. So, how many fish did we catch and release? Well, at some point it really doesn’t matter. It became an ICY HOT experience and we had to break out the Extra Strength Pain Relieving Cream to treat the burning arm muscles.
In the early morning, Joe and Jerry showed me how to “rig up” using a strike indicator, 14 feet of level 2x tippet, a split shot and three nymphs. Effective flies were #16 Midge Pupae patterns, Scuds, and Bead Head Hares Ears. This set up worked all day. I am sure we caught over __________fish. But who’s counting?  After a while it just became “ICY HOT”!
Jim Cannon
Comments
  1. ronpecore says:

    Now that is my kind of fishing, catching till your arm falls off!!!

Leave a Reply

